Southwest Airlines is building an airport lounge at Honolulu. Two details matter more than the headline: the first guests are not expected until late 2027, and the only way in the company has named is a credit card that does not exist yet. We fly to Waikiki about twice a year and then stay for weeks, so any lounge at HNL is a door we would get two chances a year to open — the first of them more than a year from now. We read it as a 2028 decision, not a 2026 one.
What happened
On September 2, 2026, Southwest announced its first-ever airport lounges. Construction has begun on four of them: Austin-Bergstrom, Baltimore/Washington Thurgood Marshall, Daniel K. Inouye (Honolulu), and Nashville. The release says the first guests are expected in late 2027, and that at least seven more lounges are planned over the next several years.
The lounges are being built with Chase, and the release ties them to the existing Chase Sapphire Reserve Lounge Network. Tony Roach, Southwest’s Executive Vice President, Chief Customer & Brand Officer, framed them as a natural extension of the airline’s hospitality.
About the rooms themselves, the release gives one clause: each lounge will pair Southwest’s hospitality with “sophisticated design, locally-inspired dining, high-quality amenities, and valuable travel benefits.” That is the entire published description of what is going inside, and “locally-inspired dining” is the only phrase in it that would read differently in Honolulu than in Nashville.
Access gets exactly one sentence in the release’s own question-and-answer section: a new, premium Southwest Rapid Rewards Credit Card issued by Chase, launching in 2027, “will provide access to the new Southwest lounge network.” That is the whole answer.
The version that ran locally on September 8 — a New York Times report carried by the Honolulu Star-Advertiser — adds a line from Southwest CEO Bob Jordan, who said in a statement that the airline knows its customers want lounges and will “provide them with an experience that matches or exceeds any that’s currently in the marketplace.” We have seen that quote only in the reporting, not in the release itself.
One small thing nobody framed as news: Honolulu is the only one of the four that is not on the mainland, and Southwest does two different jobs out of that airport. Southwest’s own Hawaii page lists Honolulu, Kahului, Lihue, Kona and Hilo, puts San Diego–Honolulu at 6 hours 26 minutes, and in the same breath sells inter-island service as a way to “explore multiple destinations during your trip” — Honolulu to Lihue was showing from $58 one way for a mid-October departure when we checked on September 9, 2026. So an HNL lounge would serve six-hour ocean crossings and short hops to the next island, same airline, same day. The release does not say whether both of those passengers would be let in — a question Austin and Nashville never have to answer.
What it changes for a Waikiki stay
For a trip you are booking now, and for most trips you will book next year: nothing. That is not a dodge — it is the actual answer, and worth separating from the parts that are still blank.
| Question | What the September 2 announcement says |
|---|---|
| Where | Austin, Baltimore/Washington, Honolulu, Nashville; at least seven more later |
| When | Construction has begun; first guests expected late 2027 |
| How you get in | A new premium Southwest Rapid Rewards card from Chase, launching in 2027 |
| What is inside | ”Sophisticated design, locally-inspired dining, high-quality amenities, and valuable travel benefits” — nothing more specific |
| Which terminal, how big, what hours | Not stated |
| Whether a same-day boarding pass is required | Not stated |
| Whether that boarding pass has to say Southwest | Not stated |
| Elite status, fare class, or a paid day pass | Not mentioned |
| Card name, annual fee, guest policy | Not stated |
Two of those blanks are the ones that decide whether this is relevant to you.
The first is who actually gets through the door, and two separate questions hide in there. Do you need a boarding pass for that day at all? And does it have to say Southwest? Airline-run lounges usually want both; a lounge you reach through a credit card usually still wants the boarding pass, but not a particular airline on it. The release answers neither question, and since these are being built with Chase and pointed at the Sapphire Reserve Lounge Network, which model applies is genuinely unclear. It also does not say that existing Chase Sapphire Reserve holders get in. Do not assume either way yet.
The second is the annual fee, because that is the number the whole thing eventually reduces to. A lounge you can enter is a fixed benefit; a lounge you can enter twice a year is a fixed benefit divided by two.
Notice which end of the trip this helps, too. A lounge sits past security, on the way out. It does nothing for the part of a Hawaii trip that actually costs effort — landing, waiting for bags, getting from HNL to Waikiki with luggage. If you hoped this would improve your arrival day, it will not.
What we would do
We would not move a booking, a date, or a card application for this. Not this year, and probably not next year either, because “late 2027” is a construction schedule, not an opening date, and airport construction slips.
When the card appears in 2027, our arithmetic will be short — and it starts from a bigger if than the announcement lets on: we would have to be flying Southwest out of HNL at all, on a day the lounge would have us. We take two long stays a year rather than a string of short ones, the same reason we keep going back to a smaller, older suite in central Waikiki instead of chasing the newest tower — days on the ground are what we are buying. Two long stays means two departures from HNL, whoever we fly. So the question is whether an annual fee, whatever it turns out to be, buys enough in two afternoons a year, given that we would also be routing both of those departures through one airline to collect them. If the card does things we would use anyway, that changes the math. If it exists only to open that door, it does not.
Here is the honest other side. A lounge before a long flight home, on the day you are tired, sunburned, and already checked out of your hotel room, is one of the few airport products that solves a real problem. If you fly Southwest often — across the Pacific, or to Austin, Baltimore and Nashville for work — the fee could look small. We are not going to tell you it is a bad deal. We cannot: the deal has not been published.
What we would do between now and then is nothing at all, which is our specialty.
Before you plan around this
Everything above comes from Southwest’s September 2, 2026 release, checked on September 9, 2026, plus the September 8 report that ran in the Star-Advertiser and Southwest’s own Hawaii route page. Past that one clause about design, locally-inspired dining, amenities and travel benefits, there was as of that date no published terminal location, no square footage, no opening month, no card name, no annual fee, and no guest policy. Nothing in this announcement is bookable.
The two places to re-check are Southwest’s own lounge announcement page and, when it launches in 2027, Chase’s page for the new card. Card terms are set by the issuer, not the airline’s press release, and they will decide this for most people.
Card terms, fees, and lounge access rules had not been published as of September 9, 2026. This is our reading of an announcement, not financial advice — confirm current details with Southwest and Chase before making any decision.



